The lifecycle of Yammer users on your Office 365

   Back to blog listing

Posted by Victoria Ross on 19-Oct-2015 10:30:00
Victoria Ross
Find me on:

As an Office 365 administrator, you can activate and control the lifecycle of all of your yammer users on your tenant. You can control everything from the moment that user joins your company until the moment they leave you.

Yammer and Office 365 work side-by-side in many ingenious ways. The moment you create a user and give them their Office 365 log in credentials they can access your company Yammer. The moment you delete them from your system they are automatically deactivated / suspended from Yammer.  

You can also deactivate and reactivate office 365 users if you wish to. We will show you exactly what you can do below;

 

Creating a yammer user

Yammer users are created as they log on, instead of being created with bulk updates or sync from Active Directory. Here, we will show you how this works;

Image showing the Yammer user creation process

The process follows these steps:

  1. The Office 365 admin creates a user in Office 365.

  2. The user logs on to Office 365 using the identity provider that is configured for the tenant.

  3. The user clicks the Yammer tile in the app launcher to go to your Yammer app

    Image showing the Yammer App logo and location among other office 365 apps

  4. A new Yammer user is created for the Office 365 user.

 

Want to know how to transform your business with Yammer?

Download our digital transformation e-book to discover how to utilise Yammer and Office 365 together in ingenious ways.

Deleting a yammer user

If an employee leaves the company, you can delete the user from Office 365 as soon as you want to. When the user is deleted from Office 365, the corresponding user is deactivated (also known as suspended) in Yammer. Our advice for best practice is, this user should be removed from your system as soon as you can. 

Image showing a visual representation of how to delete a Yammer user

The process follows these steps:

  1. A user is deleted from Office 365;                       Image showing the delete link on a users profile

  2. The user deletion in Office 365 flows into Yammer, and the corresponding Yammer user is deactivated in Yammer. Specifically, the operation is equivalent of navigating to Yammer administration, choosing Remove Users, and then selecting Deactivate this user, as shown here: Image showing the options to either deactivate the user or permanently remove the user from Yammer

  3. Users who are deactivated (or suspended) this way will show up in Yammer administration pages as being deactivated by System Administrator, as shown here:Image showing an image of how Yammer displays deactivated users

  4. <p"id=last">When you delete a user in Office 365, the user becomes inactive. After approximately 30 days, user data gets permanently deleted. See Delete or restore users for more information
  5. Similarly, when a user is deactivated in Yammer, that user becomes inactive in Yammer. After approximately 90 days, deactivated users are permanently removed, but their Yammer messages are retained. For more information, see Remove users.

 

 

Restoring a yammer user

An administrator can also restore a user in Office 365, and the user will be reactivated in Yammer. The following diagram shows how this works:Image showing the process of how to restore a Yammer user

The process follows these steps:

  1. The Office 365 administrator can restore a deleted user in Office 365, as shown in the following screenshot:                                                                                   Image showing the location of the restore user link

  2. This action flows into Yammer as well, and the previously deactivated user in Yammer is reactivated.

 

Should I use Yammer Directory Sync?

We recommend that Yammer customers switch to using this consistent experience between Office 365 and Yammer to manage the life cycle of all their users. It’s more convenient than managing users separately, and this is the long-term direction for Yammer as well. If you are currently using the Yammer Directory Sync tool, consider switching to managing users in Office 365. Once you switch to managing users in Office 365, turn off the Yammer Directory Sync tool.

NOTE:   You can only manage the life cycle of users from Office 365 if they are using their Office 365 credentials to access Yammer.

For more information about Yammer Directory Sync, see Plan for Yammer Directory Sync.

Want to know how to transform your business with Yammer?

Download our digital transformation e-book to discover how to utilise Yammer and Office 365 together in ingenious ways.

Download Our Free E-book

 

If you like this blog, you might like this one about removing external users from Sharepoint.

If you need any support with your sharepoint, we're happy to walk you through it; contact us here  


Topics: Office 365